nomadseattle.blogg.se

The laughter of my father
The laughter of my father












I sang my lines and then, when Uma Devi moved forward to sing into the mike and nudged my shoulder, I fell to the ground." I was given a stool to stand on, as I had a problem reaching the mike. I was a frail, reed-like, pint-sized girl while she was quite formidable in her physical presence. "Back then, duets were recorded on one mike. So there we were, the two of us singing into the same mike. Uma Devi was as khati-peeti back then as a singer as she was later as an actress. I remember I was recording a duet with Uma Devi, who later became the comedienne Tun Tun. Says Lata ji, "I had some really fun times. Even the ceiling fan was switched off during the final recording. You know how Mumbai gets in the summer! During those days, there was no air-conditioning in the recording studios. We were recording a song on a hot summer afternoon. "The incident where I fainted happened with Naushad saab. But, because of my father's blessings, I was always up to any challenge in the recording studio. So were those composed by my brother Hridaynath Mangeshkar. She sets the record straight: "It has wrongly been presumed over the years that I fainted while recording a song with Salil da ( Chowdhary). But there was hope in my heart and a belief that, no matter how tough the future looked, there was always hope for a better tomorrow."ĭuring one such sweltering day, Lata ji fainted during a recording. Those were fun times even when I had to go hungry for the entire day.

the laughter of my father

"Even when I was young and struggling, I was happy hopping from studio to studio bumping into other strugglers like Kishore da and Mukesh bhaiyya.

the laughter of my father

"Everyone has her share of problems in life. "I've never been weighed down by my troubles.














The laughter of my father